Utah Car Accident Lawsuit Statute of Limitations
If you are injured in a car accident in Utah, we can help you (with no upfront fees or costs) at Christensen & Hymas. Accident and injury cases can be complex, long, and frustrating if you do not have effective and professional legal help. We know the details of injury law inside and out. Our law firm practices exclusively in personal injury law and regularly help injury victims win large settlements. We will help you make sure that your case fulfills all of the requirements of Utah law. One of the most important of these requirements is the Utah car accident lawsuit statute of limitations.
The “statute of limitations” refers to the amount of time you have to file your claim after your accident occurs.
This page explains how long you have to start your Utah car accident case, and how we can help you win that case!
How Long Do I Have to File My Car Accident Lawsuit in Utah?
If you are injured in a Utah car accident, the statute of limitations on your case is typically 4 years (there are a few exceptions – see below for details). This means that you have 4 years from the date of your accident to file your personal injury lawsuit. So, if your accident takes place on June 1st, 2017, you have until May 31st, 2021 to submit your claim. In a Utah car accident lawsuit, you can receive compensation for several different types of damages, including medical costs, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
Is the Statute of Limitations Ever Less than 4 Years?
In some cases, the statute of limitations can be as early as one year from the date of the accident. If your case involves a government employee or government vehicle/equipment then you must file a “Notice of Claim” within one year of the accident or your case could be wiped out. After filing a notice of claim, you must file a lawsuit within 1 year.
Also, if the defendant dies (even if it is unrelated to the accident), the statute of limitations can be much shorter than 4 years. You should contact an attorney immediately if you are aware of the defendant’s death.
- What if I am Filing an Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Claim?
Uninsured Motorist Coverage protects you if you are injured by a driver with no car insurance. This is a claim against your own car insurance company. You will need to file a lawsuit seeking compensation from your own insurance company to cover your losses. You have 3 years from the date of the accident to file these types of claims.
An Underinsured Motorist claim arises when the at-fault driver does not have enough insurance to cover all your damages. If that driver’s insurance company pays their full policy limits, you can make an additional claim with your Underinsured Motorist coverage as part of your car insurance policy. You must file an underinsured motorist lawsuit 3 years from the date when the at-fault party’s insurance company paid their policy limits.
What Happens if I Do Not File My Lawsuit in Time?
Unfortunately, if you do not file your claim within the statute of limitations, your case is likely dead. If you do not file your Utah car accident lawsuit within 4 years of your accident, you probably will not be able receive compensation for your injuries. This can be devastating to your recovery efforts. You may be left without essential financial assistance to cover medical bills and other expenses.
- How Can I Avoid Missing the Deadline?
The best thing that you can do for your case is to contact an experienced Utah car accident lawyer. The attorneys at Christensen & Hymas have years of experience handling car accident cases. We are familiar with the details of the accident lawsuit statute of limitations and other important deadlines. If you contact us soon after your accident, we will make sure that your case is as strong as possible and meets every necessary deadline.
Of course, your first priority after a serious accident should be to seek medical help. After you have received initial treatment, contacting an injury attorney is the first step towards receiving compensation for your injuries. An injury settlement will help you pay for the treatment you need to fully recover.
Do not let insurance companies mislead you about these deadlines. You may think they want to help you, but insurance companies will do everything to avoid paying you. We regularly help clients get what they deserve from the biggest insurance companies.
Is the Car Accident Lawsuit Statute of Limitations Ever More Than 4 Years?
As we explained above, the car accident statute of limitations is usually 4 years. However, there are sometimes exceptions to this rule. The statute of limitations may change if the car accident victim is underage or mentally disabled.
- Child Injury Victims
If a child suffers an injury in a car accident, the statute of limitations on their case is 4 years from the date they turn 18. In other words, they must file their lawsuit before they reach the age of 22. In this situation, a lawsuit may be filed more than 4 years after the accident actually occurs.
- Mentally Disabled Injury Victims
The Utah car accident lawsuit statute of limitations may also change if a mentally disabled person with no legal guardian suffers an injury in a car accident. In this case, the lawsuit can only be filed once the person has been appointed a legal guardian. The car accident lawsuit must be filed within 4 years after the date of this appointment.
How Can The Lawyers at Christensen & Hymas Make a Difference In Your Case?
We will help you get what you deserve from the insurance companies. These companies have developed strategies over the years to avoid paying injury victims what they need. But at Christensen & Hymas, we know how to overcome these strategies and win your case. It is very difficult to win a case on your own, especially when you are focusing on recovering from your injury.
A successful personal injury settlement can cover many different types of losses. These include the following:
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Ongoing medical treatments and medications
- Pain and suffering
- Decreased quality of life
- Property damage
We will handle everything for you. You will never get another phone call from an insurance company after you hire our law firm. We will work to gather the right evidence and communicate with doctors and insurance companies. This way, you can focus on your physical, mental, and emotional recovery.
Free Utah Car Accident Case Resources at Christensen & Hymas
We know that serious injuries are often expensive. Because of this, the thought of paying a lawyer to handle your personal injury case may seem unrealistic. However, we strive to make the process as affordable as possible!
- Our “No-Fee Guarantee”
You do not even need to worry about paying us while your case is in progress. We work on a contingency fee basis, which means that you will not pay us any legal fees unless we win your case. We do not believe that you should pay huge fees for ineffective representation.
This “No-Fee Guarantee” helps you the moment you step into our office. We offer free initial case consultations. During your consultation, we will discuss the details of your case and its chances for success. We will help you understand your rights, so that you can feel confident about getting the compensation you need and deserve.
- What Should I Bring to My Free Case Consultation?
If you schedule a free consultation with us, there are some important things to bring along. These documents and pieces of evidence are essential to your case. Reviewing them will help us discuss your situation more effectively.
- Your accident’s police report
- Details about the other driver, including insurance information
- Photographs of the accident scene
- Records of any interactions with insurance companies
- Witnesses’ names and contact information
These consultations can be extremely helpful to a case. The information above is key to any car accident case, and bringing it can help your case get a head start.
FREE ACCIDENT BOOK: “7 Biggest Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Utah Accident Case”
To help injury victims in Utah understand their rights, we wrote a book! This book, 7 Biggest Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Utah Accident Case, explains injury law in simple terms. Our book cuts through the usual legal jargon and tells you what you need to know in plain English. Most importantly, we offer it for free to anyone who wants a copy!
This book can help you understand the Utah car accident lawsuit statute of limitations, as well as many other important aspects of your case. You can order your absolutely free copy today by clicking here.
Contact a Utah Car Accident Lawyer at Christensen & Hymas Today
If you have been injured in a car accident in Utah and need help, we are here for you. The car accident lawyers at Christensen & Hymas know how to win your case. We will talk with you about your concerns, and no one will work harder to build you a strong case. Our firm’s motto is “service with integrity and compassion when you’ve been injured.” We take this motto seriously!
We invite you to contact us today by calling (801) 214-0954. You can also fill out the free consultation form on the top right side of this page. Our firm’s main office is in Draper, but we also have locations in Bountiful and Orem. We can meet with you wherever you feel most comfortable.
We look forward to answering your questions and helping you win your case!
Have you been Injured in an accident?
Get the Compensation You Deserve