Child Safety Laws
Children, because of their young age and limited physical capability are helpless in most situations. Even with the best intention and care of their parents and relatives, accidents still happen. Unfortunately, we cannot deny the fact that some caregivers and adults are not safety conscious in caring for children. Some of the most tragic accidents involving children could have been avoided if parents and caregivers committed to observe safety measures at home and on the road. Through the help of legislators and parents on behalf of child safety, there are some laws that put children’s safety first. Here are some of these laws:
Utah’s Child Restraint Law
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, car crashes are the leading cause of death for children 1 to 13 years old in the United States. Advocacy protection for children in the car includes putting them in the right seat, at the right time, and using the car seat the right way. Utah’s Child Restraint Law states that “the operator of a motor vehicle operated on a highway shall provide for the protection of a person younger than eight years of age by using a child restraint device to restrain each person in the manner prescribed by the manufacturer of the device.” Rule R714-240 provides the guidelines to parents on the proper installation and use of age-appropriate child restraint devices and safety belts. Since children of the same age may differ in size, children below eight years of age are not required to be in a booster seat if they are at least 57 inches tall. Children over 57 inches should use the lap and shoulder belt without a booster. Failure to properly secure children is a primary offense and a driver may be pulled over if anyone in the vehicle under the age of 19 is not properly restrained. This does not mean simply restrained in a seat belt; children ages seven and younger must be restrained in an age-appropriate child safety seat or booster seat. The penalty for breaking this law is $45.
Utah Child Abuse Reporting Law
According to the Child and Family Services, all Utahans are required by law to report a suspected child abuse or neglect case to the nearest office of Child and Family services. Concerned citizen can also notify a police office or a law enforcement agency. Abuse, neglect, or dependency of a child can be physical, emotional, or sexual. This law ensures no child is being subjected to any form of abuse and neglect.
Employment of Minors Law
Utah Code Ann. §34-23-101 provides the guidelines on the requirements for the employment of any individual under the age of 18, including permitted employment, hours of work, break and meal period requirements and age restrictions. Under this law, the employer is responsible for the minor and must ensure that he/she is doing a job that is not prohibited by the Utah or federal labor laws. These laws are meant to protect all children from all forms of harm. If you were in an accident involving your child and you feel you deserve compensation for the pain and suffering you or your child has endured; please do not hesitate to contact us at Christensen & Hymas. Our consultations are free and confidential, aiming to help you in this time of need. Call (801)506-0800 to schedule an appointment. To read our article on children accidents, click here.
Have you been Injured in an accident?
Get the Compensation You Deserve