Utah Red Light Auto Accident Lawyers
These are some of the most common car accident cases that we see, but even though fault is clearly against the driver that ran the red light, you should still consider hiring an attorney depending on the extent of your injuries and damages. Insurance will accept fault for the accident, but then argue that the injuries and treatment could not have been caused by the collision or are pre-existing. Our law firm will deal with the insurance companies and make sure you receive a fair settlement that includes medical costs, lost income, and other types of losses.
Hiring Christensen & Hymas can give you the best chance to receive the compensation you deserve. Unlike many law firms, we work on a contingency fee basis, which means that you will not pay us any legal fees unless we win you case! Utah state law clearly states that drivers must stop at red lights. Reckless drivers who do not follow this law cause serious and often deadly accidents. This page explains what to do if you are a victim of a red light accident.
What Can I Recover in a Red Light Accident Case?
As you now know, a car accident can have a significant negative impact on your life. Medical treatments can cause financial strain, loss of work ability can cut off income, and the recovery process can be long and painful. However, a successful accident settlement can help relieve some of these losses.
We can help you receive compensation for many different losses and damages, including the following.
- Medical costs (for treatment you have already received and expected future treatment)
- Pain and suffering
- Lost income due to inability to work
- Property damage
These are just some of the major losses and damages that you can recover in an accident case. Each case is unique, and so are the types of compensation you may receive. An accident attorney can maximize your chances of winning a large settlement. After your accident, you may think that the insurance company wants to help you, but that is often not the case. Insurance companies are businesses, and they want to keep their money. At Christensen & Hymas, we know their strategies well and can help you overcome them.
Learn your Rights. Get Answers. Free.
Is There a Deadline for Filing My Accident Lawsuit?
Yes, you only have a certain amount of time after your accident to file your case. The legal term for this time period is the “statute of limitations.” The statute of limitations for Utah car accidents is 4 years. This includes red light accident cases.
A 4-year statute of limitations means that you have 4 years from the date of your accident to file a lawsuit. In other words, if your accident takes place on July 10th, 2017, you have until July 9th, 2021 to file your lawsuit.
- Is the Statute of Limitations Always 4 Years?
There are some situations when the deadline changes. These include accidents involving uninsured or underinsured motorists or government employees. The statute of limitations also changes in accidents involving children or mentally disabled victims.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist claims: If you are filing an Uninsured Motorist claim, you have 3 years to file from the date of your accident. If you are filing an Underinsured Motorist claim, you have 3 years to file from the date the at-fault party’s insurance company paid their policy limits.
Claims against Government Employees: If you were injured by a Utah government employee who was on the job, you have 2 years from the date of your accident to file your lawsuit. Government employees are immune from some types of lawsuits, so be sure to speak with a lawyer about your case.
Children and Mentally Disabled Victims: If a child is injured in a red light car accident, they cannot file a lawsuit until they are 18 years old. They have 4 years from the date they turn 18 to file their suit. A mentally disabled victim with no legal guardian cannot file until a guardian is appointed. They must file within 4 years after the date that this occurs.
What Does the Law Say about Running Red Lights?
Utah law clearly explains that drivers must obey stop lights. It states that drivers facing a “steady circular red” light or a red arrow must stop and remain stopped until the light or arrow signals that they can proceed.
If a driver does not follow this law and causes an accident, they can be found negligent and the victim may be able to receive compensation in an injury case.
- Is it Ever Okay to Run a Red Light?
There are some situations when drivers can legally proceed through a red light. The most common of these is when a driver is turning right. A driver must stop at a red light if they are turning right, but then can cautiously turn if there are no oncoming vehicles.
Drivers may also turn left at a red light if they are turning from a one-way street onto another one-way street. In this situation, the driver must stop first and yield the right-of-way to any oncoming vehicles or pedestrians crossing the street.
Someone operating a motorcycle, moped, or bicycle can also ride through red lights in some situations. If they stop at the red light, and wait for at least 90 seconds without the light changing, they can cautiously ride through the intersection if no cars or pedestrians are at or near the intersection.
How Christensen & Hymas Can Help You Win your Case
Accident and injury cases may seem simple at first. You get injured, then you file a lawsuit, and the insurance company pays you what you deserve. Right? Not quite. These cases can be very complicated, and insurance companies will do everything they can to pay you as little as possible. A skilled lawyer can defend your rights to these companies and get you what you need – even without filing a lawsuit. In fact, 85-90% of all our cases settle directly with the insurance company without having to sue anyone or go to court.
At Christensen & Hymas, we strive to provide the best injury representation available in Utah. We know that hiring a good lawyer can seem financially intimidating. So, we have designed our services to be affordable and effective. We offer the following free legal resources.
Many lawyers charge hourly fees that can quickly stack up, even for a case that may not be successful. That is not how we operate at Christensen & Hymas. We work on a contingency fee basis, which means that you will only pay us legal fees if we win your case. You should only pay us if we get you the compensation you need!
It is very important for you to understand your rights and your case’s chances before you jump into a lawsuit. For this reason, we offer free case consultation to anyone who is interested. These consultations are absolutely free with no obligations or strings attached.
If you are interested in a consultation with one of our experienced lawyers, please contact us today! Or, fill out the consultation request form located on the top-right side of this page.
Many clients tell us they want to learn more about accident law. So, we wrote a free book that explains it in plain English, not the usual legal jargon. This book is called 7 Biggest Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Utah Accident Case. You can order your absolutely free copy today by clicking here.
Contact the Accident Lawyers at Christensen & Hymas Today
If you have been injured by a negligent driver in a red light accident, we can help you! Christensen & Hymas is dedicated to helping injury victims in Utah get the financial assistance they need to fully recover. We treat every case and client according to our motto – “Service with integrity and compassion when you’ve been injured.”
You can reach our main Draper office by phone at (801) 506-0800. Or, as we mentioned above, you can complete the free consultation request form at the top of this page. If you can’t make it to Draper to meet with us, don’t worry! We can meet with you at our office locations in Bountiful or Orem, or we can meet at your home or at the hospital. Let us know which location is most convenient for you, and we will come to you.
We invite you to contact us today and hope to be able to help you get what you deserve!
Image courtesy of Christensen & Hymas.