As is the case in any state, driving without a license in Utah is illegal and can result in fines, court appearances, and even jail time. It is important to follow the necessary legal steps if you wish to obtain a driver’s license.
If you are 18 or older and new to the state of Utah, but you already possess a valid driver’s license from another state, you will be able to obtain a Utah license fairly quickly. If you already have your out-of-state license, Utah state laws do not mandate that you hold a learner’s permit for any amount of time, nor do they require that you show proof of having taken a driver’s education course earlier in your life. The DMV (Utah Division of Motor Vehicles) will require you to take and pass the written driving test and possibly require that you pass the road test.
If you are wishing to obtain a driver’s license for the first time and you are a Utah resident who has already completed their driver’s education course, or if you are 19 or older and are not required to take driver’s education, you will be issued a learner’s permit by the DMV. You must keep this permit for a minimum of 90 days before you will be allowed to take your driving test.
Once you have held your learner’s permit for at least the 90 day minimum, you can visit the DMV office to take your driving test and obtain your driver’s license. According to DMV.org, in addition to passing the driving test, you will need to do the following:
- Fill out and submit a completed Form DLD6A, which is the application for a driver’s license
- If required, submit proof of your completed driver’s education course
- Have your photo taken for your license
- Pass the vision exam administered by a DMV employee
- Fill out and submit the medical questionnaire
- Provide proof of ID. This proof is determined by several different documents that support the validity of your identity, your Social Security number, and your residency. Utah’s Driver License Division provides an online list of documents that are accepted; typical documents include birth certificates, passports, Social Security cards, and bank statements.
- Pass the written permit test
- Pass the driving test
- Pay the $25 fee for a new driver’s license
Once you have completed all of the above-mentioned steps, you will be given a temporary driver’s license. This license, which is signed and stamped for authorization, is made out of paper and should be shredded and discarded when your new, plastic license arrives in the mail 2 to 3 weeks later.
Consequences of driving without a license
Driving without a license can result in very negative consequences. Whether you once possessed a license and it has been suspended/revoked or you simply never legally obtained a license, drivers who are caught operating motor vehicles illegally will face costly penalties. Under Utah state law, driving without a license is considered a Class C Misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is less severe than a felony but more severe than an infraction, and can result in up to 90 days in jail and up to a $750 fine.
To learn more about specific reasons for having your license suspended or revoked, visit criminaldefenselawyer.com, statedrivinglaw.com, and esurance.com.
Although it may be tempting to drive without a license, such behavior will end up costing you significantly more in the long run. For both your safety and the safety of other drivers on the road, it is extremely important to always drive legally and to never risk operating a motor vehicle without the proper license.
Photo “DMV signs” copyright to Oregon Department of Transportation