Driving under the influence is dangerous for everyone on the road and can cause serious accidents. Fortunately, Utah laws discourage drunk driving. If your blood alcohol content is over .08%, you can potentially be charged for two crimes: driving under the influence and driving while over the blood alcohol limit. Utah takes drunk driving very seriously and the consequences of being convicted of a DUI are fairly severe. At Good Guys Injury Law, we strive to help keep Utahns informed and safe on the road. This post outlines Utah DUI laws.
Table of Contents
Utah DUI Laws: First Offense
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, your drivers license will be suspended for at least 90 days. You must take an alcohol screening assessment to get your license back. You must also complete the driver education and awareness program. Once your license has been reinstated, you may still have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
In addition, it is mandatory that you are incarcerated for at least two days. However, you can sometimes serve this through a work service program. You must pay a fine of no less than $700. However, that cost does not include other expenses added on, such as the reinstatement of your license.
The conviction will stay on your criminal record indefinitely. However, if you are convicted a second time, the punishment and fines are doubled.
What to Do If You Notice A Drunk Driver
If you notice an impaired driver on the road, do the following.
- Stay far away from their vehicle
- Record the license plate number and vehicle details ( such as make, model and color )
- Call 911
Injured in a Drunk Driving Accident? We Can Help
If you are injured by a drunk driver, you may be eligible for compensation. The best thing that you can do for your car accident case is hire an experienced injury attorney, and we can help you with that! At Good Guys Injury Law, our experienced lawyers regularly help Utahns win their cases and get what they need. If you believe you may have a case, please contact us today for a free initial consultation!
You can also order a free copy of our book, 7 Biggest Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Utah Accident Case. This book goes beyond Utah DUI laws and explains the most essential aspects of accident law in plain English. Order your absolutely free copy today by clicking on the title above! If you choose to work with us, we will win your case — or you won’t pay us any legal fees!