Utah state law has several requirements that must be met in order to legally drive a motorcycle. In order to operate a motorcycle, you must first receive a special license from the Utah Department of Public Safety. On July 1, 2008, House Bill 72S 1 established new motorcycle licensing laws. Now, the motorcycle rider is restricted to operating a motorcycle based on the cc size of the motorcycle on which they were tested. The restrictions are as follows:
- O = 90 cc or lower motorcycle
- 2 = 249 cc or lower motorcycle
- 3 = 649 cc or lower motorcycle
Table of Contents
If you tested on a motorcycle with a cc of 650 or greater, you will be able to ride any size motorcycle.
If you already have a Utah driver license, you simply need to take a written and skills test to tack on a motorcycle endorsement to your license. If you do not have a Utah driver license, you may apply for a motorcycle-only license if you are over the age of 16. You must undergo the following steps to receive your motorcycle license:
- Complete a motorcycle rider training course. This course is not required, but is highly recommended.
- If you are minor, you must have a parent or guardian sign your application.
- For an endorsement, show your current driver license. For a motorcycle-only license, you must show proof of name, birthday, resident address, and Social Security card.
- Pay the applicable fees, ranging from $9.50 to $27.50 depending on age and type of license.
- Complete a medical questionnaire and vision test at the driver license field office.
- Pass the written and road tests.
For more information about motorcycle accident cases, please visit Christensen Law Firm’s website at www.utahpersonalinjurylawfirm.com. For a free consultation and to speak with one of our Utah motorcycle accident attorneys, please call us at 801.506.0800.