Brett needed the entire insurance’s policy limit to pay for his serious motorcycle accident injuries.
In a case we handled, policy limits helped save a man from additional grief. A driver on drugs crossed the median while driving and hit a couple’s car. This pushed the couple into the path of a semi-truck. The accident killed the wife and left the husband with serious health problems. However, the policy limit for the reckless driver did not even cover half of the medical bills. The husband contacted us and we went to work. We talked with three different insurance companies to ensure that he could pay for all of his medical and other expenses.
Other Important Information
When you buy an insurance policy, you hope that you never have to use it. If you do, you want it to work. However, if you have low policy limits, you may be responsible to pay the rest of the money to the injured person. Your chances of dealing with this significantly decrease if your insurance has a good policy limit. Since policy limits are limited, you may find your accident burning a hole in your pocket. Utah law states that the at-fault driver’s insurance company is not required to repay the victim(s) insurer if the policy limit has already been used up. Utah’s Occupational Disease Act requires a minimum policy limit of $1 million. According to Utah law, the same amount of money is available to multiple people seeking an insurance claim as to a single person seeking it. Utah’s required policy limits follow:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $65,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $15,000 per accident for property damage
- $3,000 in PIPcoverage
Learn your Rights. Get Answers. Free.