Car Accident Lawyers Serving Midvale, UT
Wedged in between Murray, Sandy, West Jordan, and Cottonwood Heights, Midvale is experiencing a healthy rate of population growth, hinting to the fact that more people are moving to and working in the city. With its numerous schools, affordable real estate market, and easy access to the Salt Lake area’s finest points (Fashion Place Mall, Little Cottonwood Canyon, and downtown, to name a few) thanks to proximity to both I-15 and I-215, it’s no wonder why Midvale is a popular place.
But with busy highways nearby, a population influx, and of course, State Street, which runs directly through the city, car accidents in Midvale are more common than they should be. If you are involved in a Midvale car accident and suffer damages, our experienced Salt Lake personal injury lawyers at the law offices of Christensen & Hymas want to meet with you to discuss your claim in person today.
Filing a Claim with Your Insurance Company after a Midvale Car Accident
After a car accident in Midvale, it is important that you seek medical care, assess damages to person and vehicle, file a police report, and of course, quickly report the accident to your car insurance company. Reporting your car accident is a must if you want to be compensated – failure to report your accident within a reasonable amount of time could result in a denial of benefits.
Because the state of Utah maintains a no-fault car insurance system, you should file your car accident claim with your insurance company regardless of who was at fault for the crash. Utah requires that all drivers carry at least $3,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) benefits, which may be used for medical expenses.
Seeking Damages from an At-fault Party after a Wreck
Sometimes, car accidents result in more than $3,000 in medical expenses, and if you have been injured seriously and have incurred more than $3,000 in medical bills, or suffered an injury considered to be “severe” by Utah’s injury threshold, you may have questions about how you will pay for these expenses moving forward. Fortunately, the state does allow you to step outside of the no-fault system and file a claim for damages directly against the at-fault driver’s insurance or the at-fault driver. In order to recover damages, you will need to prove that the driver committed an act of negligence, and that the negligence was the direct cause of your crash and injuries.
Have you been Injured in an accident?
Get the Compensation You Deserve
Understanding Comparative Fault after a Car Accident
It is important to remember that while you are allowed to seek damages from another party if your medical expenses are more than $3,000 or you suffer serious injuries, your damages amount will be reduced if you are found to be partially at fault for your crash. For example, suppose you are involved in a side-swipe collision with another driver, and you and your vehicle are both badly damaged. After an investigation, police officers conclude that the other driver was 90 percent to blame for the crash, as they were impaired at the time of collision, and were operating their vehicle recklessly. However, you were talking on the cellphone at the time of crash, and as such are found to be 10 percent at fault under the supposition that had you not been distracted, you may have been able to avoid the accident. Because you are 10 percent at fault for the crash, your damages are reduced by 10 percent.
The Time to Act Is Now
Even if your claim is not as complicated as the example listed above, it is important that you act quickly – the statute of limitations for filing a car accident claim is four years. If you wait four years to act, though, evidence critical to your case could be lost. Our attorneys urge you to act now to preserve your chances of recovering your maximum damages amount.
Contact Our Midvale Car Accident Lawyers Today
Being involved in a car accident is scary. When you have suffered losses, it is important that you are paid the maximum amount of compensation that you deserve. When you contact the law offices of Christensen & Hymas, we will immediately get to work investigating the cause of your accident and building your car accident claim. Even if you are only filing a claim with your own insurance under PIP coverage, we will still happily valuate your damages and review a settlement amount to ensure it is fair. We can negotiate with an insurance company, and will prepare to take your case to court if need be.
To schedule a free consultation with our Utah car accident attorneys today, please call us directly. We are also reachable online.