Riverton, UT Car Accident Lawyer
Located in the southwest corner of Salt Lake County, Riverton is one of the fastest growing cities in Utah. In the last two decades, the population of Riverton has more than doubled. Major roadways such as Utah State Route 71 and Utah State Route 154 run right through the center of the city, providing quality transportation. However, like any community in our region, Riverton has to deal with car accidents. According to data provided by the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS), there were 27,153 traffic accidents in Salt Lake County in 2015. Many of these crashes occurred in Riverton.
Car accident victims deserve full compensation for their damages. Unfortunately, this compensation can often be very difficult to obtain. The big insurance companies are known to work aggressively in order to try to limit the total value of settlement offers. Insurers are not eager to pay victims fair financial compensation for their medical bills, lost income, and pain and suffering.
At Christensen & Hymas, our top-rated Riverton, UT car accident attorneys help injured victims fight back against insurers. We have extensive experience handling complex motor vehicle accident cases. If you were injured in a car accident in Riverton, Utah, please contact a member of our law firm for immediate assistance. Initial consultations are free of charge.
What to Do After a Car Accident
- Get Medical Assistance
Car accident victims should always have their injuries examined by a competent medical professional. Many common auto accident injuries, including brain injuries, whiplash, and back pain, come with a delayed onset. For your health and safety, you always need to get yourself checked out. In addition, you will not be able to make a car accident injury claim in Utah unless you have medical records that support your case.
- Report the Crash to Authorities
Under Utah law, all accidents that result in either injuries to any party or greater than $1,500 in property damage should be reported to law enforcement. As a car accident victim, you want to be sure that a state or local police officer comes to the scene of your crash to file an official report. This accident report is a valuable form of evidence.
- Secure All Relevant Evidence
To the best extent of your ability, you should also try to secure relevant evidence from the scene of your car accident. Take pictures of the accident damage, get contact information from eyewitnesses, and exchange vehicle and insurance information with the other drivers involved in the wreck.
- Consult With a Lawyer
Finally, there is no reason to go through the Utah car accident injury claims process on your own. The big insurance companies are staffed by well-trained professionals who will not be looking out for your best interests. If you suffered a severe injury in a traffic accident, you should consult with an experienced Riverton personal injury lawyer as soon as possible.
Have you been Injured in an accident?
Get the Compensation You Deserve
Car Accident Liability in Utah
Utah is a comparative fault jurisdiction (U.C.A. § 78B-5-818). For Riverton car accident victims who have more than $3,000 in medical damage, you can bring a legal claim against the party who was ‘at fault’ for your crash. For your claim to be successful, you will need to prove fault with valid supporting evidence. In the state of Utah, fault is based on negligence. To prove that another party was to blame for your car accident, you must prove that they did something unreasonably unsafe and that their unsafe conduct actually was a factor in causing your accident.
Many different parties can potentially be held liable for a Utah car accident, including vehicle manufacturers and even highway maintenance authorities. However, in the majority of cases, car accidents are caused by negligent drivers. Some of the common examples of driver negligence that our Riverton personal injury attorneys have seen include:
- Running red lights;
- Running stop signs;
- Reckless driving;
- Unsafe lane changes;
- Distracted driving; and
- Drunk driving.
In some cases, multiple different parties will split the blame for the same car accident. As Utah is a comparative fault state, victims may be able to recover financial compensation even if they are deemed to be partially at fault for their own crash. However, in these scenarios, a victim’s compensation will be reduced by their amount of fault. If the insurance company is trying to blame you for causing the accident, you need to speak to a Riverton car accident lawyer immediately.
Compensation Available for Car Accident Victims
If you were hurt in an automobile accident in Salt Lake County, you are entitled to make a claim for the full value of your damages. To get a full and fair recovery, you must be able to prove your losses. Sadly, the big insurance companies are more concerned with their own bottom line than they are with ensuring that injured victims get the compensation that they desperately need and rightfully deserve. Our Riverton car accident lawyers can help you get what you are owed. This could include money for:
- Vehicle repairs;
- Vehicle replacement;
- Emergency room fees;
- Ambulance bills;
- Medical expenses;
- Physical therapy;
- Lost wages;
- Diminished earning capacity;
- Pain and suffering;
- Emotional distress;
- Disfigurement; and
- Wrongful death.
You Can Always Afford Our Top Rated Riverton Car Accident Attorneys
Following a major accident, the last thing that you will want to deal with is more bills. For this reason, many injured car accident victims worry that they will not be able to afford a high-quality Riverton, UT car accident lawyer. With Christensen & Hymas, you do not need to worry about the cost of obtaining the best legal representation. Our law firm only gets paid if we win your case.
Contact Our Car Accident Lawyers in Riverton, UT Today
At Christensen & Hymas, our Riverton, UT car accident lawyers are proud to provide high-quality personal injury law services. If you were hurt in a motor vehicle collision in Salt Lake County, our legal team can help. For a free, no strings attached review of your personal injury claim, please call us today at (801) 214-1061.