Utah Uninsured Motorist FAQS
Getting into a car accident is a difficult enough of an ordeal to deal with. A car accident with an uninsured driver could potentially add complications to your case. Our Utah car accident attorneys has listed some frequently asked questions about uninsured motorist:
Table of Contents
1. What is an uninsured motorist?
An uninsured motorist is someone who does not have a car insurance policy. Driving without an insurance policy is considered illegal in most states.
2. What is uninsured motorist coverage?
This is your car insurance feature that pays for the damages of your car when you are involved in a car accident and the other driver happens to be without car insurance. Even if the other driver is to be blamed or at fault for the accident but he was driving with a lapsed insurance coverage or did not have insurance at all, your own insurance policy if it includes uninsured motorist coverage will take care of the repairs.
3. What is an underinsured motorist?
An underinsured motorist is someone whose insurance coverage is not high enough to cover repairs and damages resulting from their driving behavior or carelessness.
4. What is underinsured insurance coverage?
This is your personal car insurance coverage that would pay for the damages of your car and your injuries if the other driver who is clearly at fault has an insurance policy that is not high enough to cover the cost of repairs of your damaged car or to pay the medical bills for the injuries sustained if there are any.
5. Can I purchase uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage higher than my liability coverage?
No. Generally insurance companies do not allow the purchase of uninsured and underinsured coverage higher than liability coverage.
6. What is liability coverage?
Liability coverage (often simply called “liability”) protects you from damage you do to others or to property in an accident. Car insurance liability coverage is typically made up of three separate components wrapped up under the “liability coverage” heading. These components are bodily injury, each person ($50,000 maximum payment per person, for example), bodily injury, each accident ($100,000 maximum payable per accident, for example), and property damage ($50,000, for example).
7. What is the minimum amount set by Utah law for underinsured motorist coverage?
Title 31A Insurance Code, Section 305.3 Underinsured motorist coverage specifies a $10,000 for one person in any one accident and $20,000 for two or more persons in any one accident.
8. What are the requirements set by law regarding insurance?
A person is required to maintain insurance on a vehicle operated on a highway within the state. (Utah Code Ann. § 41- 12a-301). Aside from this, a person is required to carry evidence of insurance when operating a motor vehicle and be able to display it upon the demand of a police officer. (Utah Code Ann. § 41-12a-303.2).
9. What are the penalties and fines if found to be driving without insurance?
It is a class B misdemeanor if insurance is not maintained on a vehicle or if evidence of insurance is not carried when operating a motor vehicle. It is an affirmative defense if the person had insurance on the vehicle at the time of the arrest. There is a fine of not less than $400 for a first offense and not less than $1,000 for a second or subsequent offense. (Utah Code Ann. § 41-12a-302, -303.2)
10. What are the consequences of giving false information regarding insurance policy?
It is a class B misdemeanor to provide false evidence of insurance to a peace officer or a false or fraudulent statement to the Motor Vehicle Division or the designated agent that administers the Uninsured Motorist Identification Database Program. (Utah Code Ann. 41-12a-303.3, -804). The Department of Public Safety shall suspend a person’s driver’s license upon receiving notification from a court of a conviction of an insurance provider and may not renew the person’s driver’s license until evidence of insurance is provided. (Utah Code Ann. § 41-12a-303.2)
If you have been injured by an uninsured motorist, please do not hesitate to contact us at Good Guys Injury Law by calling (801)506-0800. To read more, visit our article on uninsured motorist accidents.
Learn your Rights. Get Answers. Free.