Car Accident Lawyers Serving Bluffdale, UT
As a city that is quickly spouting new communities and businesses, Bluffdale has become a popular place to call home in the Salt Lake Valley. Accessible via Bangerter Highway or I-15, though, there is no doubt that reaching Bluffdale–or reaching downtown Salt Lake from Bluffdale–often means dealing with traffic. And of course, more cars on the road and more traffic means an increased risk of accident.
At the law offices of Christensen & Hymas, our experienced Bluffdale car accident lawyers are here to help you understand what to do next when a wreck occurs. To learn more, please schedule a free case consultation with our talented car accident lawyers today.
Utah’s Car Accident Laws – How to Recover Compensation after a Crash
Utah is a no-fault car insurance state, which means that regardless of whether or not your vehicle slipped on ice and caused the crash, you were at fault for the accident due to an error, or you were hit by a negligent driver, all parties involved in a crash will turn to their own insurance first to collect damages. In fact, regardless of who caused the accident, personal injury protection (PIP) coverage pays at least $3,000, which is the minimum coverage limit in the state.
But What If My Damages Are More than $3,000?
Recognizing that in many cases, medical expenses in a car accident total more than $3,000, Utah law also allows drivers to step outside of the no-fault system and file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance, or file a lawsuit directly against the other driver, when:
- Medical expenses total more than $3,000; or/and
- Serious injuries were sustained.
Typically, serious injuries are those injuries that result in permanent disfigurement, bone fracture, or permanent disability.
Have you been Injured in an accident?
Get the Compensation You Deserve
Holding the Other Driver Liable for Your Injuries
If you suffered more than $3,000 in damages, which means that your PIP coverage limit is unable to pay for your medical expenses, or if you suffered serious injuries, then Utah’s modified comparative fault laws will apply as you pursue damages from the at-fault party. In order to convince the at-fault driver’s insurance company to pay for your injuries, you will need to prove that the other driver committed an act of recklessness, carelessness, or negligence, and that your injuries would not have occurred but for this act. Examples include texting while driving, driving while impaired, using a handheld device, speeding, illegally changing lanes, and more.
You will also need to prove that you did not contribute to the accident, or that your contribution was very minimal. This is because the state’s modified comparative fault laws hold that a plaintiff’s damages will be reduced in proportion to their degree of fault. For example, if you were 10 percent at fault for the crash and suffered $10,000 in damages, you can only receive $9,000, or 90 percent of your total damages amount.
The Importance of Working with an Experienced Bluffdale Accident Attorney
Many people who are involved in car accident in Bluffdale and surrounding areas don’t think to call an attorney, believing that they can navigate the claims process on their own, and not wanting to kick up dust, especially when the insurance adjuster is someone you’ve known for many years (as is not uncommon in Utah communities).
At the law firm of Christensen & Hymas, we understand your feelings about working with an attorney, and assure you that we are always amicable and friendly, and never intend to create contention or engage in legal battles. Instead, our job is to help you to understand how your car accident occurred, the value of the damages that you have suffered, how to file a claim, what evidence needs to be submitted to prove fault, and how to skillfully negotiate for a settlement amount that you deserve. We always thoroughly review settlement offers to ensure that you are not being short-changed. And while our goal is always to settle cases outside of court, we are prepared to litigate on your behalf if need be.
Contact Our Utah Car Accident Attorneys Today
We know how scary car wrecks can be. If you are involved in a car accident in Bluffdale and suffer injuries, property damage, or both, a quick consultation with our Salt Lake personal injury lawyers can provide you with the information you need moving forward. We have the skill set and legal knowledge that you are looking for, and we will never charge you upfront or hidden fees. To learn more, please contact us today online or by phone. Consultations are free.